(Short) Japanese Drama Review: Boku, Unmei no Hito Desu

Kame and Yamapi Together Once Again!

Also known as I’m Your Destiny, Boku, Unmei no Hito Desu is a drama about falling in love with your destined partner. I thought it was a really good drama. It was well put together, and I thought the concept was creative. While everyone was looking forward to Kamenashi Kazuya and Yamashita Tomohisa acting in a drama together again for the first time since Nobuta wo Produce, I didn’t think that their performance together were what made the show so good. Sure, their chemistry definitely contributed to it, but there was were so many other characters in the drama that made watching it a delight.

Ratings out of 10:

Acting: 7

Storyline/plot: 8

Plot Development: 10

Characters: 8

Music: 9

Ending: 9

I’m just going to give a few brief notes on why this drama is worth watching.

  1. Kamenashi Kazuya and Kimura Fumino had good chemistry. Their characters were both very awkward, especially around each other, but I thought they acted well together. So well, in fact, that I wish these two would date in real life. I saw them in an interview together, and I just think they’d be perfect for each other!
  2. Both Kame’s and Yamapi’s acting has improved. I’ve always thought Kamenashi was the better actor of the two, and I’ve never actually seen a performance of Yamapi that I liked, but in this drama, Yamapi did surprisingly well. In the  beginning, it seemed like he wasn’t too comfortable with his “God” character, and he didn’t seem very genuine, but as the drama continued, he became more comfortable, and in the end, he even had me emotionally invested in his character. Kamenashi certainly didn’t have a difficult role to play, but I liked seeing him act so spazzy and awkward. I thought he did a good job too.
  3. The secondary couple, Mitsue and Sadaoka, were super cute. They very nearly stole the show away from the main couple.
  4. And last but certainly not least, Mitsushima Shinnosuke was great. He was one of the best actors in this show, and in my opinion, he stole the show away from Yamashita Tomohisa. While the bromance between Masaki and “God” was supposed to be one of the highlighting aspects of this drama, I found the bromance between Masaki and Sadaoka much more appealing. Instead of looking forward to Kame/Yamapi scenes, I started looking more forward to the Kame/Mitsushima scenes. (And as a side note, Mitsushima has beautiful eyes. I love how he manages to be suave yet adorable at the same time.)
  5. Music was good. It fit each of the scenes, and I especially liked the incorporation of classical music as a plot device.
  6. The romance was sweet. Feelings came on gradually, and I appreciated seeing how each character grew to love the other.

To conclude:

Watch If: You want to see Kame and Yamapi together again, like romance, like a meaningful story, and like the concept of destiny and changing history.

Don’t Watch If: You don’t like sweet, slow romance. (That’s really all I can say because this really was a good drama)

Overall Score: 8.5

Rewatchability: 75%

Leave a Reply

