(Short) Chinese Drama Review: The Princess Weiyoung

princess-weiyoung

Princess Weiyoung, or How Many Times Can We Frame Wei Young Without Anyone Catching on to a Pattern?

Ratings out of 10:

Acting: 7

Storyline/plot: 7

Plot Development: 7

Characters: 7

Music: 6.5

Ending: 10

Ah, this drama was so romantic! I loved that this was one of the only historical fiction dramas I’ve seen that almost solely focused on the romance. Of course, there was some political intrigue in the drama, but the relationship between the two leads was the main plot through the whole drama. Although I do not think it is one of the best historical dramas by any means, I did still thoroughly enjoy it. I couldn’t wait to watch the next episode, and I only skipped one or two scenes in the whole of 54 episodes!

The acting was pretty good, although I thought Vanness Wu was a bit awkward in his role as a villain (his hair was fabulous, though). The plot was engaging, but there were way too many times that Weiyoung got framed. Finally, around episode 30 or 40, the directors/writers finally got a clue to move on from the “framing Weiyoung” part of the plot. The ending was bittersweet, but it was perfect. And if not for the unresolved plot-points in the end, my score for the drama would have been higher.

Oh! And I will say there is one plot point in this drama that was perfection. I cringe even thinking about what happened, and it was really hard to watch some of the episodes because of what happened to Weiyoung, but after that plot point is finally resolved, you look back and realize how well it was actually executed.

If you’re a fan of historical dramas, pretty people, revenge, and, most importantly, ROMANCE, then I would highly recommend you to watch this drama.

If you like watching historical dramas because of politics or revenge or, well, history, then I wouldn’t watch this drama if I were you (it was based on a fictional book, you know).

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Always skip the opening and ending of each episode because if you don’t, they will spoil the drama for you.

Overall Score: 7.4

Rewatchability: 95%

Leave a Reply

