Korean Drama Review: Kill Me, Heal Me

kill me heal me

Ratings out of 10:

Acting: 9

Storyline/plot: 10

Plot Development 9 (slightly too many flashbacks that weren’t enjoyable in the later episodes)

Characters: 10

Music: 10

Production Value: 10

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THIS DRAMA. Oh my goodness, this drama was amazing! I went into this drama knowing it was going to be entertaining because of the multiple personalities and because of the once again Hwang Jung Eum and Ji Sung pairing, but I really didn’t know just how good this drama was going to be. Honestly, I’ve always thought Ji Sung was a good actor, but only good–never surpassing the threshold from good to great. So, needless to say, I was amazed by his performance in this drama. Whereas in their last drama, Secret, Hwang Jung Eum played the central character and got to show off her great acting chops, “Kill Me, Heal Me” was a drama in which Ji Sung played the central character and got to show off his acting chops. Oh, and I’d like to say that never before has a drama had me replaying scenes so much (Se Gi/Ri Jin rap battle anyone?). . . that’s how good it was. Let’s get started!

First of all, I would like to say that this is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, one of the best Korean dramas I’ve ever seen. Sure, it did have some flaws (which I’ll mention later), but overall, it was great. There were many twists and turns mixed in with some predictable situations that just kept you coming back for more. So, the drama itself, the story, the progression, the characters, everything was really good. But now, let’s get to exactly why the drama keeps you coming back for more. . .

Ji Sung. Pure and simple. The best part about the drama (besides the romance because that’s always good) was the different personalities. And the only way each of the personalities is able to make such an impact on a person is because of the actor portraying them, which was Ji Sung. Never has a character made my heart beat so fast while I was watching an episode and for a while after the episode was finished than the character of Shin Se Gi. No doubt, he was the most popular personality, and there was good reason for it. Ji Sung made him sexy and scary, while at the same time, making him loveable, funny, and slightly sad. And if you thought Johnny Depp looked good in eyeliner, just look at Ji Sung in it. It’ll make your heart beat furiously too! Perry Park was one of the funny personalities. I don’t know anything about Korean accents, but the accent Ji Sung gave him was very distinctive and really made Perry Park’s character. Yo Na was another funny personality and probably the next to most, if not tied with Se Gi for the most, popular personality. Ji Sung really acted well as a man acting like a teenage girl. He didn’t try to go overboard and make himself actually SEEM like a girl, since Cha Do Hyun is a man, but he did really well at making you believe that he was a girl trapped in a man’s body. Yo Na’s scenes with Oh Ri Jin and Oh Ri On are hilarious. Yo Sub was the suicidal personality and though he wasn’t in the drama for very long, he still managed to tug on your heartstrings (if there has to be a weakest personality, acting-wise, I would say this was the one). These were the main personalities that the audience sees the most.

Hwang Jung Eum, as always, did a really good job. At first, I thought her character was a bit too eccentric (hilarious, though), but she quickly grew on me. I loved seeing her in a funny role again because (and it seems like lots of people aren’t aware of this) Hwang Jung Eum is actually a really good comedic actress. And this is why I think she is one of the best Korean drama actors/actresses because she does both comedy and drama so well. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, just watch “High Kick Through the Roof.” She’s a riot in there and that was her first big drama/sitcom.

Park Seo Joon was a pleasant surprise. The only other thing I’ve seen him in is “Dream High 2” and what caught my eye in there was his looks, not his acting ability. I was excited to see him in a main role, though, and he surpassed my expectations. Although Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum are much more experienced than he is in the acting world, he pulled his weight well. The natural chemistry he had with Hwang Jung Eum was great. And it never seemed like he was out of place. In my opinion, his acting matched that of his costars, and with costars like he had, that’s no easy task. His character, Oh Ri On, was precious.

The other actors were good also. I loved Ri Jin and Ri On’s mom and dad–they were so funny, and I enjoyed seeing how much they loved and cared for their children. The only actor/actress that I think could have done a better job was the actress who played Do Hyun’s grandmother. She seemed to only have one expression and although she really made you hate her character, I felt that so much more could have been done. The actress who played Chae Yun and the actor who played Cha Ki Joon were good, but I also felt like they could have given more, but to a lesser extent than the grandmother, since their roles weren’t as demanding as hers. Oh! It should also be noted that the kid who played young Cha Do Hyun was impressive.

There was one song that was played the majority of the drama: Auditory Hallucination by Jang Jae In. This song is so good! I couldn’t stop listening to it! There were some other nice songs that played also in the drama. There was one sung by Park Seo Joon and one sung by Ji Sung, and both of these were really good. There were also a few background songs that were great mood setters. But, seriously, if you haven’t listened to Auditory Hallucination yet, go do it. Now!

Also, romance was a big part of this drama, and I really did love the way they incorporated it with both Se Gi and Do Hyun. The chemistry between Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum has gotten considerably better since their last drama together, and this is probably due to the fact that Ji Sung’s acting has gotten considerably better since their last drama (since Hwang Jung Eum has great chemistry with whoever she acts with, excepting No Min Woo because, let’s face it, he’s only a pretty face). The chemistry wasn’t perfect, as I thought she had more with Park Seo Joon than with Ji Sung, but it was still there and it was a great improvement from Secret. The romance was gradual which was refreshing as there was no one moment where the actors are saying stupid lines like: “Oh, why is my heart beating this fast?” or “Why am I jealous all of a sudden?” They knew when they developed feelings for each other, and they didn’t pretend not to notice.

The ending was perfect. I won’t put it up there with the best endings in Kdrama history because there were definitely other loose ends they could have tied up, but even without all that, the ending was perfect. It was simple and lovely, and even though it was the end of the drama, there was no bittersweet feeling–only a sweet feeling. So, that’s it. Overall, “Kill Me, Heal Me” is one of the best Korean dramas I have ever seen and will probably ever see. While I was watching the last two episodes, I do admit a few tears dropped out of my eyes, and I’m very sad to see it end, since this is one of the very few dramas that I’ve actually watched until the end while it was still airing.

#teamsegi forever and ever!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Overall Rating out of 10: 9.6 (Woah! That’s only .2 points lower than Giant!)

One thought on “Korean Drama Review: Kill Me, Heal Me

  1. Pingback: Must-Watch Korean Dramas (2000-2015) | The OOC Channel

Leave a Reply

