That Day You Finally Hit the 100,000 Word Count

I did it! I can’t believe it! It’s been a long time in coming, but, finally, I have written 100,000 words (a little more, actually), and it feels really good.

So, a little background on my history as an amateur writer. I began writing when I was in 8th grade–I was twelve years old at the time. It all began when, in an English class, we were tasked with writing a mythological short story. I had the time of my life writing it as it was the first creative writing task I had been given in school, and when I got my paper back I had gotten a perfect 100%. This was a grade that was difficult to get and that nobody else in my whole grade received. I was stoked and knew that writing was something that I wanted to pursue.

I began with poetry and the essays and short stories  that are typical through the high-school career, but then my sophomore year of high school, I began writing a full-length novel–two, actually. . . They were both horrible, and I didn’t get very far with them, but I never gave up writing. My 11th grade year, I worked on a novel (all handwritten) that turned out to be pretty long, but the story wasn’t very good, and I eventually gave up on it. Then, my senior year of high school, I came up with a concept for a story that would later transform into a much different concept and become the book I am currently writing. Fast forward some four years later, and here I am at 100,000 words, nearly finished, as I don’t think it would be wise for my book to exceed 120,000 words.

Now, I didn’t actually start seriously planning this book until I was in my first year of college. After that, it was a full one to two years before I actually put pen to paper (or rather, fingers to keyboard) and wrote the first chapter. I believe I wrote this chapter in either late 2012 or early 2013. I wish I had kept better track of the time. It is my shortest chapter. I then waited many more months to write chapter two, which I’m pretty sure I wrote while I was in Florida in 2013. I think it was in the summer. Then, after that, I didn’t start working on the book again until August 27, 2014. 2014 y’all! It had been over a year! But, when I started school that semester, I was determined to finish my book by Christmas.

I started off really strong, writing over a thousand words on many days for a month, then I got busier with school and work and just lost my motivation for about a month. NaNoWriMo was what helped get me motivated again. I was determined to write 50,000 words in the month of November. My book was around 25,000 words when November rolled along, and by the end of November it was around the 75,000 mark because I had accomplished my goal of 50,000 words in a month.

After November, though, because finals were nearing, and I was going to be going home for winter vacation (I can’t write at home because I always just want to spend time with my family), I didn’t write again until January 20, 2015. And now, I have finally reached 100,000 words! I plan to have the very rough draft of my book finished by May, and I think I will be able to accomplish that.

But, goodness! Today, when I saw myself pass 100,000 words in the word count, I was ecstatic. I’ve written 100,000 words! Something I’ve never done before and something I never thought I’d be able to do. So, even though it took me roughly two to three years to reach that number, I am still very proud of myself. And if you have reached an amazing word count goal for yourself, whether that be 30,000 words or 130,000 words, be proud of yourself! It takes a lot of discipline and effort to be able to do that. Plus, if you tell your friends or family or some random person, they’re sure to be awed.

Oh! And if you want to see what my book is about, here’s my NaNoWriMo page: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/silentshimmer/novels/beyond-trees-and-sand

(I warn you: my title and synopsis are rough, so don’t be turned off just because they suck, as I’ve come up with a better title and have been thinking of a better synopsis since then. Also, the excerpt you see was from the second chapter of the book written in 2013, and I haven’t edited it since then. . .)

Leave a Reply

