My Biggest Pet Peeves (which may or may not be very common)

Why am I writing this? Well, for one, I’m bored, and, for two, I’m sure other people have the same pet peeves that I do, so they might enjoy reading this. At number one of my biggest pet peeves we have…

1. Smacking on food

OH MY GOODNESS! This just….this…ugh! This annoying habit of some people really grates on my nerves. Whenever someone starts smacking away on their food, I really want to strangle them! Would I actually do it? No, of course not. I mean, it’s not like they eat and smack 24 hours a day. But, just that thought running through my mind shows how peeved I get when someone does this. I really don’t think that there is any excuse for it either. Sure, maybe your parents didn’t raise you to know that it was rude and downright gross to smack loudly on your food when you were a child, but you should’ve learned it when you went to restaurant’s or over to friends’ houses and saw that they chewed with their mouths shut.

2. Not replacing the roll of toilet paper after you’ve used it all

Yep, this is also really annoying. This hasn’t happened to me outside my family, really, but man, my brothers are experts when it comes to this. There are many times that I go and tell them to put the toilet paper on the roll because it annoys me so much. It’s especially annoying and even angering when you rush into the bathroom because you feel like you’re about to burst, sit down on the toilet, do your business, then look to the side just to see that there is no more toilet paper. Oh man!

3. Biting your nails

Now, if you can bite your nails quietly, then I’m okay with it. It’s not the actual act of biting your nails that irritates me, it is the sound that someone makes while doing it. Men are the worst at this. I can’t even describe the sound they make, but it’s like I can hear them sort of sucking and biting at their fingernails, and it drives me insane and makes me want to burst my own eardrums.

4. Small, perfectly round holes

Can this really be considered a pet-peeve? Well, probably not. But, I wanted to mention it anyway. Whenever I see a small, perfectly round hole, I feel like bugs are crawling inside of my body. I get chills, and I honestly feel like throwing up. It takes me forever to forget about the hole, too. I picture all the things that could crawl out of it, and it is so gross and scary and I really really really hate small and perfectly round holes.

5. Arguing that Shakespeare didn’t really exist and that Francis Bacon wrote all of Shakespeare’s works

NO, NO, NO! Stop trying to shove your conspiracy theories down my throat. William Shakespeare was a real person, and he wrote his own works. Christopher Marlowe was not William Shakespeare, Francis Bacon (especially Francis Bacon) was not William Shakespeare. William Shakespeare was William Shakespeare, and he did indeed exist. Sure, there is not as much evidence as we would like to prove he existed, but there is even less evidence that one of these other people wrote under his name (and I have actually researched and written a paper on it). This is a big pet peeve of mine and of many people I know.

Well, that’s all I can think of for now. If I think of any more, I’ll be sure to record them. Hope you enjoyed this!

NOTE: Below is from a blog post that I wrote a long time ago and never published. I wrote it when I was going through a hard time, so if some of it seems too harsh, just remember that most of this I wrote in the heat of the moment. I decided to publish it now, however, because these things are probably common things that annoy people, and, of course, they do still annoy me whenever they happen. I also think that it’s well-written, but that is completely subjective, and you might not think the same way ;).

So, here we go, another rant! I’ve just gotten so fed up with people (friends, family, strangers, myself) lately, that I thought it would be best to make a list of all the things that annoy me about people to get the extreme irritation out of my being.

1. Thinking your opinion is superior to everyone else

Now, I actually am guilty of this many of the times, but it still annoys me. There are also quite a few people in my family who think like this.

Examples: 1. I’m with a person and we walk outside. It’s around 75 degree Fahrenheit outside. The person makes a comment, “This is just the perfect temperature.” I reply with,  “Yeah, it’s nice, but my perfect temperature is 50 degrees.” The person replies, “Well, this temperature is what it must have been in the Garden of Eden.” I reply, with a small laugh, “You don’t know that.” “The person replies, “Well, I think that this is God’s perfect temperature, what he intended the earth to be.” Again, I reply with a small laugh, “You don’t know that. It’s just your opinion that this is the perfect temperature.” The person replies, “No, yes I do know because this IS the perfect temperature, it’s not just opinion.” I just left it at that, but it really irritated me that the person couldn’t agree that people had different different opinions about what the “perfect” temperature was.

There have been many other instances of this, mostly with the same person, and because of who the person is, I can’t exactly tell him/her that this is something that annoys me about him/her and that he/she should stop doing it. So, alas, I am writing it here.

2. Making another person feel stupid

I see this ALL the time EVERYWHERE. I always see it at least once per day. It’s like people can’t get through the day without making another person feel inferior to them. This really gets on my nerves, especially when it happens to me. This happens in my family, at church, at school, at the grocery store, it happens just about everywhere to just about everyone. (I’ll have many examples for this one)

Examples: 1. A conversation between me and two women at the church I attend (one woman is only a few years older than me (A) and the other is quite a bit older than me(B))

Woman B: Hey, how are you doing today? (referring to me)

Me: I’m pretty good. I’m just getting over a sinus infection, though.

Woman B: Oh, that’s too bad. Yeah, I know a few people who are having trouble with their allergies, right now.

Me: Oh, yeah, I don’t think this is from allergies, since I’m not allergic to anything. I think it could be because of the weather [the temp. was fluctuating between warm and cold and humid and dry]

Woman A (who had been nodding along and listening in): Well, you must have allergies because you can’t have a sinus infection without allergies. (she said this in a rather condescending tone masked in mellifluousness  and she and Woman B started laughing lightly)

*I must note that Woman A is someone in the church whom everybody adores and whom everyone thinks is the epitome of sweetness and perfection.

Me: (I replied to both women, but mostly Woman A, rather quietly and firmly): Don’t treat me like I’m stupid.

Woman A didn’t respond, but I know she heard me because after that she started treating me differently. Woman B, who is really a sweet lady, just came and apologized, but I told her it really wasn’t her that had upset me.

And the most annoying thing about this whole situation was that I was RIGHT, and Woman A was wrong, yet she still made me feel like an idiot. It’s one thing when you don’t know how to do a math problem and the teacher makes you feel stupid for not knowing how to do it (which has happened to many people I know), and then it’s another thing when you KNOW how to work out the math problem and you KNOW the answer is right, but the teacher makes you feel stupid anyway because he/she had the wrong answer and thought it was right.

3. Never apologizing

Oh my goodness! I cannot even tell you how much this annoys me. Whenever I do something wrong, my conscience always gets me and I always apologize, otherwise I won’t be able to enjoy myself. Heck, I’ve even apologized for things that weren’t even my fault, but the other person was making me feel uncomfortable, so I caved in and apologized. My family is the worst about this. There’s probably one other person in my family (out of a family of 10) that apologizes. Nobody else does. They just expect you to forget about it. Well, let me tell you, sure, I’ll try to forget about it, but if you don’t apologize to me for something you did wrong, that incident will forever be in my mind as an injustice unless you correct it. And, no, I’m not talking about holding a grudge. I’m just talking about how it will always be in the back of my mind, even when we are getting along, so that I can be more cautious next time. (I have no examples for this one because it is pretty straight-forward)

4. Acting childish AKA immature/younger than your age

There are a couple of people in my family that suffer from this, but it’s only occasionally, thank goodness. At the church I attend, on the other hand, there are way too many people that act younger than their age, all the time.

Example: There’s this “youth group” in my church that meets on Wednesdays. It’s technically not a youth group, since everyone is in their twenties, but that’s just what I call them since they’re exactly like a youth group. Well, one Wednesday (when I used to attend) our youth pastor decided to give his sermon/lecture on how people shouldn’t talk when they’re not supposed to talk (as in when the teacher talks or when someone else is talking). His WHOLE freakin’ sermon was about this and everyone was taking it so seriously that he almost cried and a few other people almost cried. The mood after the sermon was like someone had just died! Well, I was about 17 at that time and my brother was 16 (we were the youngest in the group). All the other people in there had ages ranging from 20-30. I really wanted to laugh after that sermon because of how serious everyone was and how stupid the whole situation was. I hadn’t gotten a talk like that since I was in 7th grade, yet here were all these “adults” having to be talked to about not talking when the teacher is talking! When you’re a teenager, you should already be following that rule without having to be spoken to about it. When you’re an adult, you should not have to be talked to about this stuff. You should be mature enough to know that when someone is talking, you should not be talking, especially when that someone is an authority. But, most of these “adults” in the group are immature, and it really gets on my nerves, which is one of the reasons I stopped going to Wednesday church. I haven’t been in a while so maybe they’ve gotten better…

5. Someone who never listens

(Just go read my separate blog post/rant about this, titled, “Sometimes, You Just Get Tired When People Don’t Listen”)

6. Harping on the past

I don’t know a lot of people who actually do this, but some do it occasionally (like me, though it’s almost always in my mind). Give up your past and move on. If you’re always going on about how your parents were evil or how you were always abused, I’m going to stop wanting to talk to you, because it’s annoying. When I’m talking to you about how my parents won’t let me work in a strip club or go to a certain school, or how they hate that I’m gay or lesbian, I don’t want to hear about how your parents verbally abused you when you were a kid. It’s not that I don’t care about you, it’s just that if you’re always bringing that up into every conversation, I’m going to become irritated.

Leave a Reply

